Aug 24, 2016

Suresh Prabhu commissions new Nandyala-Yerraguntla Rail line

Image result

Vijayawada: Union Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu today commissioned a new railway line between Nandyala and Yerraguntla, which Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu described as the “dream of (late Prime Minister) PV Narasimha Rao.”

The Union Ministers and Chandrababu also flagged off a new passenger train between Nandyala and Kadapa on the occasion.

They inaugurated the facilities through a remote video link from Vijayawada in the presence of state ministers, MPs and senior railway officials.

Noting that poor connectivity caused disparities in growth of different regions within a particular state, Prabhu said, “we want to make sure connectivity will be the keystone.”
The 29 states make a “big family of India”, the Railway Minister pointed out, adding the country grows if the states grow. “For this, infrastructure is needed and the railways has to provide most of it as it is the important backbone of industry and socio-economic development,” Prabhu added.

Venkaiah Naidu said the Nandyala-Yerraguntla railway line was a dream of the late Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao. “He represented Nandyala in Lok Sabha. His dream has now come true. You can calculate how many years it took for that to happen,” Venkaiah observed. “As it would take 40 years to complete all railway projects promised so far, Prime Minister Narendra Modi asked Suresh Prabhu not to take up any new projects,” he said. “It’s a gigantic task Prabhu is facing,” he remarked.

The 123-km railway line was built at a cost of Rs 967 crore and connects Kurnool and Kadapa districts of Andhra Pradesh. This will also directly connect the Rayalaseema region with the state’s new capital Amaravati. The new line will gave a fillip to industrial activity in Kurnool and Kadapa districts that have a large mineral base, particularly the cement industry.

There will be eight stations between Nandyala and Yerraguntla with no unmanned level crossing for a length of 75 kms out of the entire stretch.

The passenger train will provide access to large parts of Kurnool and Kadapa districts and cater mostly to traders, students and employees commenting between Nandyala and Kadapa.

It will also connect holy places like Yaganti Venkateswara Swamy temple, Hussain Shah Vali dargah and Jain temple at Danavulapadu.

M.Venkaiah Naidu, Hon’ble Minister of Urban Development, Housing, Urban Poverty Alleviation and Information & Broadcasting, Govt. of India, Y.S.Chowdary, Hon’ble Minister of State for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Govt. of India; Prathipati Pulla Rao, Hon’ble Minister for Agriculture, Agri Processing, Marketing & Ware Housing, Animal Husbandary, Diary Development & Fisheries and Krishna District In-charge Minister, Govt. of AP; Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao, Hon’ble Minister for Irrigation, Command Area Development and Water Resources Management, Govt. of AP; Kamineni Srinivas, Minister for Health & Medical Education, Govt. of AP; Kollu Ravindra, Hon’ble Minister for BC Welfare & Empowerment, Handlooms & Excise, Govt. of AP; Mandali Buddha Prasad, Hon’ble Deputy Speaker, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly; Smt. Gadde Anuradha, Hon’ble Chairperson, Zilla Parishad, Krishna District; Koneru Sridhar, Hon’ble Mayor Vijayawada Municipal Corporation; Dr. K.V.P.Ramachandra Rao, Hon’ble Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha); Kesineni Srinivas, Hon’ble Member of Parliament, Vijayawada; Shri Buddha Venkateswara Rao, Hon’ble MLC; P.J.Chandrasekhara Rao, Hon’ble MLC; Jaleel Khan, Hon’ble MLA, Vijayawada (West) will be the Guests of Honour for this function at Vijayawada. The function will be also attended by other public representatives, dignitaries and senior railway officials.

Translate in your language

M 1