Jun 20, 2017

Dr CP Thakur for doubling of Ara-Sasaram railway line

PATNA: Ten Bihar MPs attended a meeting of the parliamentary committee members of Danapur division under the East Central Railway (ECR) on Monday and demanded better passenger amenities at all big and small stations besides foolproof security to passengers on trains and stations.

ECR GM DK Gayen, Danapur DRM R K Jha, senior railway officials of the zone and Danapur division were also present at the meeting.
Rajya Sabha member Dr CP Thakur, who is the chairman of Danapur division parliamentary committee, demanded early completion of Bihta-Aurangabad rail line, doubling of Ara-Sasaram new line and stoppage of Patna-New Delhi Rajdhani Express at Danapur station. He appreciated the railways' move to provide free medical treatment to porters in the railway hospitals and enhancing ex gratia up to Rs10 lakh to each victim family in case of death in an accident.

Patna Saheb MP Shatrughan Sinha demanded better safety for passengers on running trains and more cleanliness on platforms. He also urged railway officials concerned to build new foot overbridge at Fatuha station. Sinha said the railway retiring rooms at Patna Saheb station must be freed from the GRP possession. Besides, railways must think over stoppage of Rajdhani Express at Kushrupur.

JD(U) MP Bashishtha Narain Singh demanded more passenger amenities at Buxar while Gopal Narain Singh of BJP said Palamu Express should start from Dehri-on-Sone. Railways must provide a third line between Danapur and Rajendra Nagar Terminal on priority basis to ease traffic congestion in the division.

The other MPs present in the meeting included Ali Anwar Ansari, Ashwani Choubey, Arun Kumar, Bina Devi and Anil Sahni.

Gayen welcomed the members while the DRM made a PowerPoint presentation to show development of railways in the division.
Source - Times Of India

Translate in your language

M 1