Jun 20, 2017


To give a boost to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cashless India push, Western Railway started cashless transaction at five stations of the city. These five stations opt for digital payment application for all facilities like ticket purchase, smart card recharge, refunds, and e-parking, eatery item tea coffee among others. However, the cashless facility cannot be opted for pay and use toilet services at stations. 

The five stations are Churchgate, Mahalaxmi, Dadar, Elphinstone Road and Borivali. 
Out of all, these five stations were chosen because of factors like major footfall of smart-card holders there and adequate mobile connectivity. This decision is, however, taken to encourage people to embrace the Centre's vision of a cashless economy.

Ravinder Bhakar, WR's Chief Public relation officer, said "People will have the option to pay through mobile wallets such as Paytm in this regard. The cashless transactions for ticket and smart card purchase or top up at these stations can be done through digital payment mode. Canteens of theses station are also part of this digitalization 

Apart from this, Mumbai's Western line is also going to convert five other railway station cashless. The names of the proposed stations include Ratlam, Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Bhavnagar and Rajkot, cashless, added Bhakar 

When asked about expansion of this scheme Bhakar said,"We have already started cashless transaction for all at five prominent stations of the Mumbai central division. Gradually, this facility will be extended to remaining stations. We are also after taking passengers feedback and suggestions.
Source - mumbaimirror

Translate in your language

M 1