Jul 29, 2017

Railways have issued a new Non Fare Revenue Policy for encouraging viable proposals for generating revenue from non-conventional sources. Zonal Railways and Divisions have been empowered under the policy to take decisions regarding revenue generating proposals, subject to feasibility and desirability which, inter-alia, includes selection of specific events and locations. As part of the ‘Skill India’ initiative, Ministry of Railways had signed an MoU with the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship to make available spare capacity of Railway Infrastructure to MSDE for their skill development initiatives. MSDE identified 53 locations spread across the country and identified the Training Partners who will set up Skill Development Centres through Directorate General of Training and National Skill Development Corporation. Name of Zonal Railway Name of Railway Station/Division Central Panvel (Mumbai), Pune (Pune) and Jalgaon (Bhusaval) Eastern Asansol Northern Bhatinda(Ambala), Kiratpur Sahib(Ambala), Jind(Delhi), Lucknow(Lucknow), Udhampur(Ferozpur), Chandigarh(Ambala), Meerut(Delhi), Baghpat(Delhi), Bijnor(Moradabad), Haridwar(Moradabad), Pratapgarh(Lucknow) and Amritsar North Eastern Varanasi, Ghazipur (Varanasi), Siwan (Varanasi), Lucknow(Anand Nagar), Chhapra (Sonepur) Northeast Fronter Dibrugarh (Tinsukia) Southern Kannur (Palghat), Trivandrum (Trivandrum) Western Mumbai, Gandhinagar (Ahmedabad), Ujjain (Ratlam) South Central Eluru(BZA), Nellore(BZA), Ongole(BZA), Nizamabad(Hyderabad), Bhongir(Secunderabad), Mahbubabad (Secunderabad) East Central Hajipur(Sonepur), Patna(Danapur), Jamui(Danapur), Chandauli(Mughalsarai) East Coast Waltair North Central Gwalior(Jhansi), Mirzapur(Allahabad), Allahabad North Western Jodhpur, Dausa(Jaipur), Bikaner South East Central Nagpur, Mandla(Nagpur) South West Bangalore, Hubli, Belgaum(Hubli) West Central Vidisha(Bhopal), Kota, Hoshangabad(Bhopal), Sagar(Jabalpur) Out of the above in 16 locations, agreements have been signed/site handed over and 3 more are under process. In 20 places, even though locations have been identified, the training partners are yet to respond. Further, in 14 locations, either there is no response or the alternative locations offered by Railway are not being considered by the training partners. 477 people are under training at these Skill Development Centres. 255 people have completed their training so far. This Press Release is based on the information given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha

The steps taken by the Indian Railways to dissuade people from travelling without ticket are as under:- 

i. Conducting of regular and surprise checks against ticketless travel, which are intensified during peak rush periods. 

ii. Vigorous drives such as Ambush Checks, Fortress Checks are conducted in association with Railway Protection Force and Magistrates under the Action Plan framed by Railway Board. 

iii. Intensive Check Posts have been set up at important stations of each division of Zonal Railways to curb ticketless travelling in unreserved segments. 

iv. With a view to curbing entry of without ticket passengers in ticketed areas and to reduce ticketless travel, instructions have been issued for ensuring effective manning of all designated/functional gates at stations. 

v. Travelling public are urged to avoid ticketless travel through publicity campaigns launched by Zonal Railways through posters/notices/ announcements at railway stations and advertisements in newspapers. 

This Press Release is based on the information given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha